About Queensland Cardiovascular Research Network

Share this

Launched by the Governor of Queensland in November 2015, the Queensland Cardiovascular Research Network (QCVRN) provides a framework to strengthen cardiovascular research in Queensland, including:

  • fostering multi-disciplinary collaborations
  • attracting new funding for Queensland cardiovascular research
  • building research capacity
  • becoming a combined voice for cardiovascular research in Queensland and ensuring the potential benefits generated from the research are maximized.

The steering committee, with an independent chair (Professor Jonathan Golledge) and representation from the Heart Foundation, Queensland Health and multiple research organisations, has been established to provide strategic direction and leadership to the QCVRN.

Queensland Cardiovascular Research Network Steering Committee

Prof Jonathan Golledge (Chair), James Cook University
A/Prof Chris Askew (Deputy Chair), University of the Sunshine Coast
A/Prof John Atherton, Royal Brisbane & Women’s Hospital
Prof Corneel Vandelanotte,  Central Queensland University
Dr Mary Boyde, Princess Alexandra Hospital
Dr Genevieve Healy, School of Population Health, University of Queensland
Prof Wally Thomas, School of Biomedical Science, University of Queensland
Dr Sue Hooper, Queensland Department of Health
Prof Greg Anderson, QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute
A/Prof Jason Peart, Griffith University
Dr Kathleen Finlayson, Queensland University of Technology
Alison Durham, Heart Foundation (Queensland Division)
A/Prof Anna Lewis, Heart Foundation (Queensland Division)


About QCVRN snapshot image showing the four key aims