Heart Foundation awards recognise excellence and innovation in Australian heart, stroke and blood vessel disease research.

Ross Hohnen Award for Research Excellence

The Ross Hohnen Award for Research Excellence recognises each year’s most outstanding and innovative Vanguard Grant application. The award provides $10,000 on top of the grant.

The award is given in memory of Ross Hohnen, AM, OBE, who was instrumental in establishing the Heart Foundation. His commitment and leadership enabled the Heart Foundation to become the largest non-government funder of cardiovascular research in Australia.

Read more about Ross Hohnen’s achievements in his Sydney Morning Herald obituary.

Ross Hohnen Awardees

2018: Professor Graham Hillis
2017: Professor Yves d’Udekem
2016: Associate Professor Maxine Bonham
2015: Associate Professor Janet Bray
2014: Associate Professor Graham Hillis 
2013: Associate Professor Clara Chow
2012: Dr Thiruma Arumagam
2011: Professor Karlheinz Peter
2010: Professor Jenny Gamble
2009: Dr Thiruma Arumagam
2008: Dr Owen Prall
2007: Associate Professor Merlin Thomas
2006: Professor Michael Good
2005: Dr Shane Thomas
2004: Dr Xiao-Jun Du

The year listed is the year in which the funding application was made.

Heart Foundation Paul Korner Innovation Award

The Heart Foundation Paul Korner Innovation Award is given to the most innovative successful Future Leader Fellowship and Postdoctoral Fellowship applications each year. 

The award was introduced in 2013 in memory of Professor Paul Korner and his contribution to cardiovascular research. It provides a single payment of $20,000 on top of the Fellowship.

Read more about Paul Korner's achievements in his Sydney Morning Herald obituary.

Future Leader Fellow - Innovation Awardees

Dr Connie Wong
Associate Professor Yuerui Lu

Dr Lauren May
Dr Xiaowei Wang

Professor Andrew Steer
Dr James Hudson

Dr Graeme Polglase
Dr Enzo Porrello

Dr Pascal Molenberghs
Dr Claudia Nold 

Dr Michael Inouye

Postdoctoral Fellow - Innovation Awardees

Ms Dorothea Dumuid
Dr James McFadyen

Dr Man Lee
Dr Kavitha Muthiah

Dr Michael Wong
Dr Lining Ju

Dr Beeri Niego
Dr Stephanie Simonds
Dr Yung-Chih Chen
Dr James Chong
Dr Xiaowei Wang

Dr Erik Westein

Heart Foundation Research Medal for Lifetime Contribution to Cardiovascular Research

This medal recognises outstanding individual contribution to the fields of heart, stroke and blood vessel disease research in Australia over a sustained period. 

Winners exemplify research excellence and represent the best in their field with national and international recognition.

Past winners

2015: Professor Andrew Tonkin and Professor Gregory Dusting
2013: Professor Philip Barter
2009: Professor John Chalmers and Professor Garry Jennings
2007: Professor Robert Graham
2006: Professor Paul Nestel